indépendance du soudan


January 1st 1956: Sudan gains independence from Egypt and Britain (known as the Anglo - Egyptian Condominium).

July 6th 2011: The declaration of the second Sudanese Republic


Sudan consists of 17 states ruled by elected governors.
Each state has an elected parliament through a free direct system and proportional representation.
Each state consists of a number of localities headed by an appointed commissioner and has an elected parliament.

Names of States by Population Size: Khartoum (Khartoum), Gezira (Wad Madani), North Kordofan (El-Obeid), South Darfur (Nyala), South Kordofan (Kadugli), North Darfur (El-Fashir), Kassala (Kassala), East Darfur (Al-Diayn), White Nile (Rabak), Red Sea (Port Sudan), Al-Gadarif (Al-Gadarif), Sinnar (Sinja), River Nile (Al-Damir), Blue Nile (Al-Damazeen), West Darfur (Al-Jinayna), Northern State (Dongola) and Central Darfur (Zalinji)


Number of Localities: 176


Official Holidays :

  • Independence Day: January 1st

  • Christmas (Eastern denominations): January 7th

  • The Prophet Muhammad's birth: Rabi Al-Awwal 12th

  • Easter (Eastern and Western denominations): April 24th

  • Commemoration of the National Salvation Revolution: June 30th

  • Eid Al-Fitr: Shawwaal 1st

  • Eid Al-Adha: Dhul Hijja 10th

  • The Islamic New Year: Muharram 1st

  • Christmas: December 25th (Western denominations)


The majority of the Sudanese are Muslims, a portion of the population is Christian, and Customary Creeds have considerable followers.


Arabic, English, and local languages and dialects.


Khartoum, the capital: 

Khartoum is one of three sister cities, built at the convergence of the Blue and White Niles: Omdurman to the north-west across the White Nile, North Khartoum, and Khartoum itself on the southern bank of the Blue Nile Khartoum has a relatively short history. It was first established as a military outpost in 1821, and is said to derive its name from the thin spit of land at the convergence of the rivers, which resembles an elephant's trunk (khurtum).

Khartoum grew rapidly in prosperity during the boom years of the slave trade, between 1825 and 1880. In 1834 it became the capital of the Sudan, and many explorers from Europe used it as a base for their African expeditions.

Khartoum was sacked twice during the latter half of the 19th century -- once by the Mahdi and once by Kitchener when the Mahdi was ousted. In 1898, Kitchener began to rebuild the city, and designed the streets in the shape of the British flag, the Union Jack, which he hoped would make it easier to defend. On the opposite bank of the Nile, North Khartoum was developed as an industrial area at about the same time. Today's Khartoum is a quiet, unremarkable city. It has peaceful, tree-lined streets, and in some ways still bears the unmistakable mark of an outpost of the British Empire. Its expansion to accommodate a rapidly-growing population, however, has added very little in terms of charm or atmosphere.



The new national currency – the Sudanese Pound – was launched on the 9th of January 2007.This represented an important event in the implementation of the CPA. First and foremost, it is an important symbolic measure of change, but it also corrects the current situation where as many as six currencies are legal tender. Particularly in the Southern Sudan the new currency will benefit economic development.

Norway has taken the lead among donors to mobilize international support. The IMF is providing technical assistance.

Weights and Measures:

The metric system (metre, kilogram etc) is widely used.
The feddan is the customary unit of land measurement. One feddan = 4,200 sq.m. = 1.038 acre = 0.42 hectare.


Emblem & Flag:

The emblem of Sudan demonstrates the picture of the "Secretary Bird" with the wing spread upward.
There is a frame linking the two wings of the strong bird and the phrase "Victory is for us" written on it.

The Flag: